On October 30th, 2018, the European Commission granted the legal status of European Research Infrastructure Consortium (ERIC) to EPOS.

The ERIC legal framework provides EPOS with legal personality and capacity recognised in all EU Member States and with the flexibility to adapt to the specific requirements of each infrastructure.


Based in Italy, EPOS ERIC is currently joined by fourteen countries: Belgium, Denmark, France, Greece, Iceland, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia and the United Kingdom, and Switzerland participating as observer.

By linking up hundreds of individual research infrastructures located in the European countries, EPOS ERIC will provide open access to a large pool of solid Earth science integrated data, data products and facilities for researchers.

The EPOS ERIC legal seat is hosted in Rome, at the Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia (INGV) headquarter. The ICS Central Hub (ICS-C) is hosted in the United Kingdom (BGS) and France (BRGM) with technical operational support from Denmark (GEUS).