European Catalogue of volcanoes - EUROVOLC

European Catalogue of volcanoes - EUROVOLC logo

The European Catalogue of Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas (ECV) is an interactive, web-based tool, containing detailed information on selected key volcanoes as well as the location of 72 active volcanoes within the monitoring territories of France, Greece, Italy, Portugal and Spain. The Catalogue of Icelandic Volcanoes (CIV) created in the FUTUREVOLC project served as a template for the European Catalogue and information on active Icelandic volcanoes from the CIV is also available through the ECV.

The European Catalogue of Volcanoes is part of the European project EUROVOLC (2018-2021) aimed at involving all the European volcano observatories in a common effort in unifying existing databases on active volcanoes and volcanic areas.

Volcano observatories and research institutions taking part in the development and data gathering for the ECV are: Icelandic Meteorological Office (IMO) and Institute of Earth Sciences, University of Iceland (UI) from Iceland; Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia (INGV) from Italy; Centro de Informação e Vigilância Sismovulcânica dos Açores (CIVISA) from Portugal; Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris (IPGP) and Université Clermont Auvergne (UCA) from France; Hellenic Survey of Geology and Mineral Exploration (HSGME) from Greece; Agencia Estatal Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (CSIC) and IGN from Spain, and Natural Environmental Research Council (NERC) and Met Office from the UK.