EPOS has just welcomed Spain as a new member of its consortium. The EPOS ERIC General Assembly formalised Spain’s membership to the ERIC, crowning a collaboration that has been in place for two decades, with Spanish researchers actively participating in several of the thematic communities that animate the infrastructure. 

EPOS has been designed and built as the unique Research Infrastructure (RI) for solid Earth science in Europe, responding to the need of reducing fragmentation and ensuring coordination of efforts and priorities among European nations in this field. Having entered the Operational Phase in January 2023, EPOS will in forthcoming years face the challenge of evolving in response to future scientific and societal challenges, and widen its user community to disclose its full potential. The commitment of European Member States to the consortium is a key to meet this challenge, and the participation of Spain is therefore a very positive signal for the future.

EPOS was granted the status of ERIC in 2018. The ERIC was first established by nine member countries (Belgium, Denmark, France, Italy, The Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Slovenia, and The United Kingdom) and three observers (Greece, Iceland and Switzerland). With Spain, EPOS ERIC members reached seventeen (Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Greece, Iceland, Italy, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and The United Kingdom), plus one observer (Germany).